Actions

  Print Article
  BookMark Article

Author Login    Author Login

Important
Existing members will have to use the lost password facility to get new username and new password

Welcome Guest! Please login or create an account.

Username:

Password:



If you do not have an account yet, you can register ( Here ), or you may retrieve a lost user/pass ( Here ).

Navigation    Navigation

   10 newest articles RSS

Author Highlights    Featured Author

Larkins Ira
Fort Myers

"Trader Swiper is an automated trade copier signal service. So any trade that Bob makes..."

View My Bio & Articles


Brian Kramer
Syracuse

View My Bio & Articles


Johnny Bells
new york

"Visit Leo Trader Pro"

View My Bio & Articles


Other Websites    Websites of Interest

Why Dorset Is The Place For Holidays If You Like Sailing

Author : Cara Brownethorpe


If you really like sailing, then a vacation to Dorset in the south of England will not disappoint.

Dorset will be home to the 2012 Olympics sailing event and sailing does not get any better than this. No matter whether you could not get any tickets for the sailing activities because there will still be locations to watch the sailing at no cost.

In Weymouth and Portland the sailing events (between 12:00 and 18:00) are:

29 July, Men's Finn, Star, Women's Elliott 6m
30 July, Men's 49er, Finn, Laser, RS:X, Star,Women's Elliott 6m, Laser Radial, RS:X
31 July, Men's 49er, Finn, Laser, RS:X, Star, Women's Elliott 6m, Laser Radial, RS:X
1 August, Men's 49er, Laser, RS:X Women's Elliott 6m, Laser Radial, RS:X
2 August, Men's 49er, 470, Finn, Star, Women's 470, Elliott 6m
3 August, Men's 49er, 470, Finn, Laser, Star, Women's 470, Laser Radial
4 August, Women's 470, Elliott 6m, Laser Radial, RS:X
5 August, Men's 49er, Finn (medal race & victory ceremony), RS:X, Star (medal race & victory ceremony), Women's RS:X
6 August, Men's 49er, 470, Laser (medal race & victory ceremony), Women's 470, Laser Radial (medal race & victory ceremony)
7 August, Men's 470, RS:X (medal race & victory ceremony), Women's 470, Elliott 6m, RS:X (medal race & victory ceremony)
8 August, Men's 49er (medal race & victory ceremony), Women's Elliott 6m
9 August, Men's 470 (medal race & victory ceremony), Women's Elliott 6m
10 August, Women's 470 (medal race & victory ceremony), Elliott 6m
11 August, Women's Elliott 6m (medal race, victory ceremony)

There are fantastic sailing events happening in the county in advance of the Olympics too. The 2011 Sail for Gold Regatta will be held from 5th -11th June at the Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy and it is a part of the ISAF sailing World Cup. There's 16 races for Match and 49er, 11 races for RSXM, RSXW, Finn, Radial, Laser, 470M, 470W and Star, and 10 races for 2.4m, Skud and Sonar.

In July there's the International Federation of Disabled Sailing (IFDS) World Cup which is actually the most prestigious event in the disabled sailing calendar outside of the Paralympic Games, and in August there is the Olympic sailing test event which is a full competitive event to test the sailing facilities prior to the Olympics.

For those who are excited about the Paralympic sailing events, the Paralympic tickets go on sale 9 September 2011, with the Paralympic events being held between the 29th August and 9th September 2012.

If trying your hand at sailing is a bit more your thing, there's lots of sailing schools in the area including Poole, Studland, Weymouth and Portland, with sailing in Poole Harbour, Portland Harbour and Weymouth Bay, and then of course there's all of the sailing socialising to be done too...

With the Weymouth Relief Road now open, making your way around should really be easy. Accommodation will book up rapidly, with dates covering the Olympic period already sold out in some cases, so book as early as you can. Dorset cottages are available to hire, and there are plenty of B&B's, hotels and camp sites in the area too.


Author's Resource Box



Article Source:
Articlebliss

Tags:   sailing, 2012 Olympics, Dorset, Dorset holiday cottages, Dorset cottages

Author RSS Feed   Author RSS Feed     Category RSS Feed   Category RSS Feed


 

  Rate This Article
Badly Written Offensive Content Spam
Bad Author Links Mis-spellings Bad Formatting
Bad Author Photo Good Article!
 

 

 

 

Submitted : 2011-05-19    Word Count : 556    Times Viewed: 832